Loading posts...

Visa Application

The e-visa portal visa.nadra.gov.pk is now operational. The portal is currently being tested and open to nationals of China, Malaysia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates and the United Kingdom.
Tourists will be given visa on arrival.
An official at the Pakistan Consulate General in Dubai told though the portal has been launched showing all visa categories, it is not fully operational yet as it is only receiving applications from citizens of five preferred countries.
“Those facing any issues while apply online can still contact Pakistani missions in their respective countries,” he said.
Pakistan Prime Minister Imran Khan had announced on March 14 this year that citizens of five preferred countries would be able to apply for electronic entry visas to Pakistan through an online portal launched by the National Database and Registration Authority (NADRA) that falls under Ministry of Interior of Pakistan.
Pakistan in January this year had announced new visa regime offering tourist visas to total of 175 nationalities. This includes e-visa on arrival for citizens of 50 countries. The full list is available on the e-portal.

Visa categories

The portal is designed to facilitate the application processes for more than 10 different categories of visas, including visas-on-arrival for tourism or business, visit visas for tourism and visit visas for business.

Visa-on-arrival for tourism

Visas-on-arrival for tourism are for citizens of 50 countries and for nationals of Indian origin travelling to Pakistan for religious tourism purposes. It can be issued for a single-entry and maximum duration of stay of up to 90 days.
Citizens of Bahrain, Kuwait, Malaysia, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Turkey and the UAE are eligible for a multiple-entry visa for up to 30 days.
Applications must be submitted no later than 48 hours before a planned trip and must be supported by an invitation letter from a sponsor in Pakistan or a confirmed hotel booking (for individual tourists) or an invitation letter from accredited tour operator in Pakistan (for group tourists).
Upon approval, foreign nationals will be issued an Electronic Travel Authorization via e-mail.

Visa-on-arrival for business

Visas-on-arrival for business are available to citizens of 90 countries. They can be issued for a single-entry with a maximum duration of stay of up to 30 days. Applications must be supported by several documents from a host entity in Pakistan and should be submitted at least 8-10 days before a planned trip. Upon approval, foreign nationals will be issued an Electronic Travel Authorization via e-mail.

Tourist visa

Tourist visas can be applied for by nationals of 175 countries. They can be issued with a validity of up to six months for a single or double-entry and with a maximum allowable duration of stay of up to 90 days. Applications are expected to be processed within 10 business days. Upon approval, foreign nationals will be issued an Electronic Travel Authorization via e-mail.


Picture tweeted by Pakistan PM Imran KhanImage Credit: Twitter/@ImranKhanPTI

Application process

Foreign nationals must register an account through the NADRA’s electronic portal, complete the visa application form and upload mandatory documents. Government fees ranging from US$8.18 to US$ 100, depending on visa category and nationality of applicant, must be paid with a debit or credit card. Applicants may be required to visit a Pakistani mission for an interview.

Salient features of new visa regime:

e-Visa for 175 countries
Visa on arrival for 50 countries (earlier they were 24)
Business visa for preferred 90 countries (earlier they were 68)
Work visa: Pak Missions to issue visas on recommendation of Board of Investment (BOI)
Family visit: 5 years multiple entry visa in 7-10 working days
Pak Missions to grant 5 years validity and one year stay (multiple) entry visa to foreigners of Pakistani origin and their spouses
Diplomatic visa: Tenure of diplomatic/official assignment
On arrival visa facility of Sikhs who hold Canadian and British Passports
Tablighi (religious groups) visa: 45 days
Missionary visa: 1 year
Student visa: 2 years
Pakistan has introduced a new initiative as part of tourists friendly policy by allowing them to visit the earlier ‘out of bound’ areas across the country.
Pakistan Information Minister Chaudhry Fawad Hussain has announced on Tuesday that the government has abolished the NOC (No Objection Certificate) which was required earlier for foreign tourists to visit certain areas in Pakistan.
The initiative is part of Pakistan’s new visa regime announced earlier this month to encourage tourism in the country.
Pakistan initially rolled out a project of visa free policy for five preferred countries including United Arab Emirates, Turkey, China, Malaysia, the United Kingdom.
In January, 2019, the governemnt had announced that it was easing travel restrictions in the hope of reviving tourism by offering visas on arrival to visitors from 50 countries and electronic visas to 175 nationalities.
Some of the major areas which will be open to foreign tourists include:
  • Pakistan-administered Kashmir
  • Gilgit-Baltistan
  • Chitral
Foreign tourists can now visit these area without obtaining an NOC. All the restricted areas are no open to foreign tourists.
Hussain said in his tweet today: “Another landmark achieved…NOC regime for foreigners come to an end. Vision is to make Pakistan a heaven for tourists and following new visa regime this important policy decision of ending NOC requirement is a leap forward.”
Hussain also shared on twitter a notification issued by the Ministry of Interior.
The notification reads: “Free movement of foreigners shall be allowed in Open Cantonments except prohibited and restricted areas with visible signboards. The border crossings will be open and non-restricted.
“Azad Jammu and Kashmir (Pakistan administered Kashmir), Gilgit-Baltistan and Chitral shall be non-restricted/non-prohibited areas as well.
There will be limited restriction for foreign tourists as they will not be able to enter certain prohibited zones listed below:
  • Pak-China border (10 miles)
  • Pak-Afghan border (10 miles)
  • Kashmir along Line of Control (5 miles)
  • Gilgit-Baltistan along LoC (5 miles)
  • Siachen along Line of Actual Contact (10 miles)
  • Gilgit-Baltistan along LoC (5 miles)
Theme developed by TouchSize - Premium WordPress Themes and Websites